June 26, 2007

Because you’ve got a lot to do before supper…

Posted in mousie at 4:40 pm by Anonymouse

I pack my husband’s lunch every day. There you have it, I’ve confessed.

It started back in January when he broke his ankle. I did everything I could to save him steps and keep him off his feet. I laid his clothes out for him, fixed his cereal, packed his lunch, etc. After he ditched the cast and crutches, I dropped the morning habits of laying out his clothes and fixing his cereal, but I felt guilty leaving him to his former ways of packing lunch. I knew that if I quit, he would eat chips and pudding instead of the nice healthy turkey sandwich that I prepared, and more importantly I knew how much he appreciated me doing that for him.

So, here we are many months post-cast & crutches and I still pack the lunch and I don’t even mind doing it and he still appreciates it and lets me know and yet I feel like it is a sign that I am becoming “that wife”. You know, the one. The subservient wife who is slave to rather than partner of her spouse. The woman with no voice of her own and no opinion. Yes, these are ridiculous thoughts. I love my husband. I love to serve him and make him feel loved and appreciated. I am nowhere near that place where I’ve lost all thoughts and opinions of my own. Why then, do I feel like I always have to justify to others this small act of service that I do for my loving husband who would never demand or even ask me to do it for him?

Yesterday at work, it came up with a new co-worker that I did this for husband and she said, “Oh, I think its great. My husband packs my lunch for me every day.” I immediately thought he seemed like a sweet and caring husband, but then I reverse the gender roles and imagine that I am on the fast-track to becoming perpetually-smiling-not-a-hair-out-of-place-apron-wearing-stocking -ironing-Donna-Reed.

Clearly I have many issues.

1 Comment »

  1. Rachee said,

    I know the scary pregnancy place you are in. And guess what – you’ve got to give the worry up because you can’t live the next 30-some weeks in fear. You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy. You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy.You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy. You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy.You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy. You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy.You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy. You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy.You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy. You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy.You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy. You have no control over the outcome of this pregnancy.

    Now say that for the next 30 weeks and you will be pleasantly surprised when they put a screaming little tyke on your bosom. ;o)

    Seriously though, it’s just a day by day thing. There is no magic formula. I would love a 3rd child but the prospect of 9 months of intense worry freaks me right the heck out.

    Enjoy being pregnant TODAY. Life is a day-to-day thing.

    CONGRATULATIONS!


Leave a Reply

