August 3, 2007

just desserts

Posted in mousie at 8:04 am by Anonymouse

Before you get too excited thinking this may be another whiskers-on-kittens kind of post about sweet confections, I better just stop you.  Although my freezer is stocked with two kinds of ice cream, three kinds of popsicles, two kinds of fudgesicles and push pops; this post is not really about desserts.

 I’ve been thinking about entitlement – what I feel like I deserve – a lot lately relative to the miscarriages.  Some of my thoughts:

  • I waited for a husband, Lord (25 when I got married – husband was 28 – which is by no means old, but was also by no means my plan), why do I have to wait for children too?
  • We did everything right – we didn’t live together before marriage, we didn’t have sex before marriage; for crying out loud, shouldn’t we be rewarded for that?
  • Why does that girl from my class in high school have an 11 year-old, a 7 year-old and a toddler with three different dads, none of whom have ever been her husband, and I’ve got a great marriage and no children?

I could go on, but I think you get the drift.

So, in response to the above (and other) thoughts of entitlement, I’ve had some different kind of thoughts about what I deserve:

  • Romans 3:23 – for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,
  • Romans 6:23 – For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

I think perspective is kind of a tough thing for me sometimes.  It is easy for me to know the rational reality, but difficult for me to always keep a good perspective.  I know that I am so very blessed (see bless me Father) with a wonderful family, amazing husband, great friends, a stable home, solid church, nice clothes, good car, etc., etc., etc.  Sometimes I can get so focused on what I want now that I don’t have now instead of all of the things that I do have now.  Now is such a crazy thing anyway.  Its so diffcut to think beyond now.  I don’t know if that is a cultural perspective thing, a sin thing or a combination – most likely a combo.  Either way, I think that is a lesson that God is trying to teach me through a lot of different circumstances. 

So now, I’ve rambled away from the whole entitlement piece, onto something else and if you’ve made it this far through this post, here is my golden ticket of wisdom for you:

In reality, my now is very small and very short in light of God’s eternity.

P.S. Check out the last sentance on the Golden Ticket.  I don’t think that is in the Bible in just those words, but that sure sounds like something God would say.  That’s entitlement, baby.

2 Comments »

  1. Sarah Abrahams said,

    Excellent post and so, so true. Thanks for sharing it. I can always use a reminder of the right perspective as well.

    Sarah

  2. Lainey-Paney said,

    When my husband & I were trying so hard the first time to get pregnant…month after month would go by.
    I had to help teenagers who found themselves pregnant….I would sit there with them, and have many of those same thoughts: she’s 16, not married, did not want/expect this, but did nothing to prevent this, has no job, little education, no money to care for this child. And yet, here I sit….patiently waiting for my turn. (patiently….maybe not….) Everything in place for a baby, but no baby.

    So….I completely understand those thoughts.

    And now, I am in a different place…I have a child…. but the feelings you’ve described….I had those. I know those feelings very well.


Leave a Reply

