October 2, 2007

redefinition

Posted in mousie at 7:33 am by Anonymouse

Since quitting my job, I’ve been re-evaluating my personal style.  I am realizing that this is something I probably should take stock in every couple of years, as this work change hasn’t really affected the level of casualness v. dressy-ness of my day to day wardrobe.  My look has just been undefined for awhile now because somewhere I lost my personal style.  Maybe I am hopelessly vain, but I feel better about myself when I feel like I look pulled together.  Do I have fantasies of looking pulled together every time I step out of my house?  No, not really.  There is a battle at the heart of my personal style between pajama pants and tank tops and something a little more sophisticated.

 When I first graduated from college, I worked at a job where I had to dress professionally.  You could have found me in any Ann Taylor ad wearing things like this:

View Outfit View Outfit

 View Outfit View Outfit

In this cycle of my life, my casual wardrobe was fairly “classic” in style.  I wore straight leg jeans, fitted tees in a variety of solid colors, khaki blazers, simple silver jewelry, etc.

Somewhere in the last three years, I’ve gotten caught up in some trends, maintained some of that classic style, gotten somewhat lazy with my appearance, and just overall obliterated any kind of a personal style.  Now, as I’m taking stock and re-evaluating, I think I’m landing on a few things:

I’m kidding myself for the most part if I think I’m going to do much more than jeans on a daily basis.  I live in the Midwest.  We are casual.  Jeans can take you anywhere.  Right now, I’m loving the trouser jeans.  I feel a little bit less like a college student in trouser jeans, and I little bit more sophisticated.  I just bought these:

Modern medium wash trouser jean

I’m still into t-shirts, but I like for them to have some sort of level of interest beyond just a fitted tee.  This is mostly for camouflage for a stomach that isn’t as flat as it used to be, etc., but I do like having a little bit of added visual/stylistic interest.  For example, I like these:

Silk/cotton kimono topCowlneck topGraphic print shawl neck top

I’ve gotten really into the chunky jewelry thing.  I’ve always been a fan of big earrings.  About a year ago, I jumped on the big bangle bracelet train, and more recently I’ve gotten into the chunky necklaces.  I like these:

Coin chandelier earringMod hammered cuff

Striped bangleMother-of-pearl two strand necklace

Shoes.  I like shoes.  I like to wear interesting shoes.  If a shoe is metallic, sparkly, an interesting print or a color other than black, brown or camel, then I am most likely to gravitate toward it (seriously – if you don’t own a red shoe, go get one, they go with everything).  This is where I either dress an outfit up or dress it down.  Typically if I’m dressing down, I’ll opt for the flats.  Here are some that I like:

While I wear flats often, at my heart I am a heel-wearing girl at heart.  I love the way I stand straighter and feel longer and thinner in a heel.  You will never catch me wearing a flat with anything that is shorter than ankle length.  Never.  Well, maybe at the pool – maybe.  Here are some heels that I love right now:

So, there you have it.  All of that to confess that right now I’m wearing a pair of blue plaid men’s pajama pants that I’ve had for 8 years complete with huge hole in the cr0tch and a hot pink tank top from Old Navy.

 

2 Comments »

  1. Lainey-Paney said,

    Well, your personal style looks fabulous!

  2. anonymouseandcheese said,

    Again – this is all in theory. The only thing I own from all of these pictures is the jeans!


Leave a Reply

