January 10, 2008

decades

Posted in mousie at 12:38 pm by Anonymouse

I just got a myspace message from a high school classmate asking me about our ten-year reunion.  My eyes won’t stop rolling for a few reasons:

  1. We graduated in 1999, we’re EIGHTEEN months away from 10 years.
  2. He emailed me because I was class president and there is this mistaken concept that the class president will plan a reunion.  I could go off on this for paragraphs and paragraphs, but I won’t.  I will simply say that anyone who thinks that a 17 year-old running for class president is in a place where he/she is ready to commit to something that is 11 years in the future is a few colors short of a crayon box. 
  3. I have no intention of organzing a reunion.  I might attend one, if it happens to be at a time that fits in with the rest of my life, but I’m not going to arrange my (next) summer around one.  I’m a firm believer in making your here-and-now life the priority and letting the reunions/college friend get-togethers/etc. fit in where they can.

Just for kicks, here is a picture of me and some classmates from the summer of ’99 and then one from the state basketball tournament my senior year.  (Please forgive all of the fashion mistakes of the late ’90s.

3 Comments »

  1. shoeaddict said,

    I graduated in 99, too

  2. I graduated in ’89.

    I didn’t go to my ten year reunion. My husband’s ten year reunion (different high school) was the same weekend. Didn’t go to that one either.

    The class officers “organized” the reunion by hiring a company to plan the whole thing. That was the extent of their involvement.

    I am staring at my 20 YEAR reunion in 2009. My God.

  3. Haley-O said,

    Great pics! I’m NEVER going to ANY class reunions…. I couldn’t bear it!


Leave a Reply

