January 15, 2008

when I grow up

Posted in mousie at 5:12 pm by Anonymouse

girl scout cookies.jpg

I’m sitting here snacking on girl scout cookies and I thought that you, dear Internet, would be hoping for something new and shallow from me.

 This is the first year that anyone has sold me girl scout cookies.  I mean my mom bought them all the time when I was a kid, but this is the first year that my doorbell has been rung by an enterprising little girl, and boy was I excited.

I finally felt like a real grown-up.

That’s right.  I’m married, I have a mortgage, I pay taxes, I bought a car, I’ve voted in multiple presidential elections, I pay bills, I’m nearly due for a class reunion, I’ve had two miscarriages, my sister is divorced, my parents are starting to have the physical ailments of senior citizens, I cook meals for people with new babies, I’ve worked in “the real world” (not the one on MTV), speaking of MTV – I feel old when I watch it, I’m a card-carrying Costco member; and being sold girl scout cookies was my true coming of age moment.

Here’s to eating thin mints and hoping you are what you eat!

1 Comment »

  1. Kat said,

    Girl Scout cookie time is heaven to me. 🙂 I’m with you on the MTV thing – all those shows make me feel old. The fact that all the people on it are YEARS younger than I am – it’s a sad thing. 🙂


Leave a Reply

