June 26, 2008

faq

Posted in mousie at 7:57 am by Anonymouse

Here’s a little FAQ on the adoption stuff.  I’m hoping to chronicle this whole thing decently well as a resource for others that will come behind me.  We’ll see how well that works out for me though!  If I’m being honest, I will tell you that I’ve read zero books on adoption and I’ve done minimal research.  Sorry to all you self-educators, that’s just not my style and I always got good grades, so I see no reason to change it up now!

Q. Domestic or International?

A. We are going to do domestic adoption of a newborn and will be working with multiple agencies through an adoption consultant, so our baby will not necessarily be born in the state that we live in.  There is no major reason why we are not doing an international adoption.  Husband was more comfortable with the idea of domestic, and that was fine with me.

Q. Open or Closed?

A. The level of openness of the adoption is yet to be determined, but will most likely be something of the semi-private variety, where there is not a lot of contact between us and the birth mother/family, but we will have medical history and will hopefully send photos etc. This specifics of this will likely be determined based on what cases come to us.

Q. What about the race of the baby?

A. We are open to any race or gender. Being open will likely get us a baby sooner and non-Caucasian babies are cheaper because the agencies have to discount them because the white babies are more in demand. We are not open because it will possibly make the process shorter or because it is cheaper, but because we don’t think it makes a difference and we believe that we’ll get the baby that God wants us to get.

Q. Are you going to start parking in the expectant mother spots at the grocery store?

A. I’m thinking about it. 😉

1 Comment »

  1. Jen said,

    I think you should start parking in those spots. 🙂


Leave a Reply

