October 16, 2008

tiny littles

Posted in mousie at 6:00 pm by Anonymouse

I love giving people their first baby gift.  When I find out a friend is pregnant, I usually run out to buy a small little gift to show that I’m sharing in their excitement – nothing extravagant, just tiny little socks or tiny little shoes or a sweet tiny little onesie.  I know what it’s like to be newly pregnant and to dream of the little tiny person that you’re expecting in mere months and I imagine it’s exciting to have tiny little packages containing tiny little things to open up even though those tiny little things are 5 million times the size of your microscopic tiny little person.

Today I got my first baby gift.

My sister told me a few days ago to be expecting a package of baby stuff in the mail.  Because it is what we do, I asked her what it was.  She didn’t tell me exactly, but she told me it was from here and that she wasn’t telling me what she picked out, but that I would have an idea if I looked at their website.

I was clueless.  Why on earth would I be able to just look at their website and know?

Well, I’ve never been one for surprises so… I looked at their website.

And I knew.

Because I clicked on “Newborn” and then saw “Baby Girl – Little Field Mouse”.

(My sister is the one who originally started calling me Mouse.  Seriously, this started way before any of you were blogging.  She still calls me Mouse.  Always.  Instead of my name.)

So, the box came today.

And I opened it.

And was totally, completely and utterly overwhelmed.

This is the first baby gift we’ve gotten and whether it is for that reason or because it is just so much stuff or because it is from my sister, I’m not sure… but I wept.

5 Comments »

  1. Rach said,

    Oh wow. WOW. That stuff is CUTE!

    OK, so I have a stash of things for little baby D…but I didn’t know if it would be appropriate to give them to you until she was here. I am always weird about that, not wanting to get stuff until the baby is here…

    So I should have sent them already!!!!!!!!!

    Oh gosh, those little things are DARLING!

    People are going to have such fun showering you. You have showered and showered and showered others with love; now it’s YOUR turn! 🙂

  2. Anonymouse said,

    Rach –
    You’re too nice. If you’d already given me whatever you have in your stash, then what would you give me at the dreaded baby shower?

  3. Joy said,

    How darling!!! I especially like the socks. There’s just something about those TINY little socks that is extra cute.

  4. Jen said,

    Okay, I had to look at each little piece and squeal over all of them! Gorgeous and beautiful!

  5. Hello-

    I am an adoptive parent who underwent infertility treatments for four years.
    I am starting a non-profit to help those undergoing infertility and/or adoption. The non-profit will offer monetary and emotional support.
    Please visit my blog: http://parenthoodforme.blogspot.com. Please take the poll and pass the link on!

    My personal blog is:
    http://ajanderica.blogspot.com

    Sincerely,
    Erica Schlaefer


Leave a Reply

