January 23, 2009

me

Posted in mousie at 1:01 pm by Anonymouse

Yesterday I had a friend and her two kids over and I fixed them macaroni & cheese and a good old can of green beans for lunch.

This is a big deal.

This is a big deal because I have a deep desire to be known as an amazing hostess.  In my hearts of hearts, I care not if there is dust on my coffee table – unless people are coming over, or fingerprints on the mirrors – unless people are coming over, or dirty dishes in the sink – unless people are coming over, or even that red ring around the drain in the bathroom sink – unless people are coming over.

I think you get the idea.

So, when I knew Rach was coming over, I carefully planned the big cleaning event and a trip to the grocery store to buy the items to complete the perfect lunch menu.  Except that I didn’t do either.

I fought the urge to be the better me in favor of just being me.  Maybe someday they’ll be one and the same, but for now they are certainly not.

And so, I made mac & cheese – which happened to be one of her daughter’s favorite meals.  Maybe next time they come I’ll make her other favorite meal.  Because I make killer toast.

3 Comments »

  1. Jen said,

    You know, mac and cheese and green beans sound really good right now. Unfortunately, I don’t have either. But you’ve made me hungry enough to go make lunch.

  2. Rach said,

    Ha! You know what’s funny? I was so refreshed by that. I haven’t had mac and cheese in FOREVER. And it was so great because you were so totally ok with it. Confident, even. It was delish! Why do you think I ate 3 bowls of it?

    And if that is your house not cleaned, I really do wonder what clean looks like. Can you make Kool-Aid in the toilet?

    Guess what she is having for dinner. She is devouring her toast with a gleam in her eye. She just leaned over conspiratorially and said, “Mom? Is it ok if I have more toast?”

    I AGREE on getting together more than every 6 months. Some time in Feb? D just cracks me up – MELLOW.

  3. Sarah Abrahams said,

    Good for you! I’ve definitely learned to be a more laid back hostess since I had kids.


Leave a Reply

