March 27, 2009

spit-ups and schedules and whines, oh my!

Posted in mousie at 6:23 am by Anonymouse

I don’t think very many people would use the words “laid back” to describe me.  I’m not uptight, I’m just not one of those people who are great at going with the flow.

That being said, transitioning to motherhood has not been difficult for me.  My approach to parenting is a sum of a couple of parts:

  1. Lazy.  Yes, I’ll admit it.  I am part lazy.  I do all of Baby Swiss’ laundry in one load – no discrimination between colors and whites and sheets and blankets and cute little socks, etc.  I let her diaper test it’s capacity in the night.  I leave her to nap wherever it is that she falls asleep – which is rarely in her crib.  I give her a bath once a week (sometimes this stretches to 10 days-depending on the level of smell of sour formula in her neck folds) because that’s what the doctor said to do despite the fact that the norm seems to be much more often.  I don’t read books – I’ve heard of Babywise and I know it’s goal, but I don’t know the methods.  Nor do I care.  I don’t have Baby Swiss on a super-schedule.  It is easier for me if she can roll with the punches, so I’m going to roll with that as long as I can get away with it.
  2. Thankful.  I don’t really know the right word to use, so I’m using thankful.  The right word is probably more like: it-took-me-a-long-time-to-get-this-baby-and-I-don’t-really-sweat-the-small-stuff-because-HEY-this-is-the-baby-that-I-waited-a-long-time-for.  Yeah, the right word is probably something like that.  Baby Swiss started sleeping 6-8 hours at a time at night when she was 6 weeks old and I was sad.  Where had that little tiny baby who needed her mama in the night gone?  She was showing her first signs of independence and I wasn’t ready!  Seriously, I waited years to be up in the night with a baby and how dare she rob me of that so quickly? 😉

So, for better or worse, that’s me as a mother. I don’t think I’ve got mothering down to a science nor do I think my methods are best.  That’s just how I roll.

I do think that the way Mr. Mouse and I parent affects the temperament of our child – to a degree.  I also think, that she was born with a tendency to be a certain way.  I suppose it’s part of the whole nature versus nurture debate.  I wish there were some way to pinpoint how much of each plays into each child.

I certainly know some people who fuss and stew over every little detail of their kid’s personality, schedule, squeak and moan and they have kids that require a lot more.  Which came first though?  Did the persnickety child lead to a persnickety parent, or did the persnickety parent create the persnickety child?  And did I just overuse the word persnickety?

Likewise, does the easy child, allow a parent to be laid back, or does the laid back parent create an environment that lends itself toward having a laid back child?

Anyone have the answers?  What has been your experience?

Enough from me for now.  I have to go make funny faces at my kid.

3 Comments »

  1. Jen said,

    My vote is that the laid back child comes first. But to some extent they both influence each other. But I was surprised at how much personality and likes/dislikes Elizabeth had.

    I do all those same things. Except for the bath thing. We started out only bathing her occasionally, but then we discovered that she found baths to be the greatest thing ever and slept better after one. So we do baths for entertainment value, not for cleanliness.

  2. Joy said,

    I would also like to know what comes first – the child’s temperment or the parents’. I know they influence each other, but how much? I am not laid back, but not hyper either, and I like a schedule, but the schedule is flexible…so I wonder how much I’m messing up my poor kids, anyway.
    I’m glad you have a baby, and I’m so glad you are enjoying her. Have fun making silly faces! 🙂

  3. shoeaddict said,

    Oh, goodie- you sound so much like I imagine myself being in a few (7) months. I had been nervous because of my “laziness” thoughts but, they sound to be working for you.


Leave a Reply

