March 30, 2009

golden girls

Posted in mousie at 7:37 am by Anonymouse

In honor of my friend, Rachel’s golden birthday today, I’m going to bring it back to me and tell you about my golden birthday.

It was 2004 and I was turning 24.  I had lived in The City Where I Live for about a year and a half and I found myself on the tail-end (although I didn’t know it at the time) of a 3 month stint of unemployment.

My college girlfriends all decided to converge in The City Where I Live for a fun golden birthday weekend celebration.  They came, bringing snacks and gifts all gold-themed.  I don’t remember much of what we did that weekend, but it was one of the last times where things were like they used to be when we all get together, and it was fun.

We went to church Saturday night and I ran into the dad of one of the high school girls in my small group at the time, who tipped me off to a job opportunity, that ended up leading to my Job-That-Was-My-Career.  We had brunch on Sunday and sent the girls all on their way.  Sunday night, my new friends came over to watch Sunday night tv like always and brought take-out Chinese and a gift of a DVD/VCR player – my first DVD player!

It wasn’t anything special, but all total was really special.

About a month later, I met Mr. Mouse and my golden year ended up being  a great one!

P.S. Go wish Rachel a Happy 30th!

2 Comments »

  1. Jen said,

    A golden birthday is the year you turn the day of your birthday? In that case, I was two. 🙂

  2. Hmmm. Must be a regional thing?

    Your golden birthday sounds like fun and just what you needed at the time.

    I guess my golden birthday occurred when I was 6. My memories of that day include a game of Duck Duck Goose. Good times.


Leave a Reply

