October 8, 2009

an ode to the waffle fry

Posted in mousie at 5:48 am by Anonymouse

Yesterday, Baby Swiss and I met a friend and her toddler at our beloved Chick-Fil-A for lunch.  I mean really, what other fast food eating establishment sends someone trolling around the lobby offering to get you a drink refill?  Sure, I might have had some really great experiences at Chick-Fil-A in the past, but really it’s great.

If you don’t have on in your area, I feel sorry for you.  Sorry you don’t get the waffle fries.  Sorry you don’t get the nuggets.  Sorry you don’t get the 102 calories-a-pop ranch dipping packets.  Sorry you don’t get the relatively clean play place.  Sorry you don’t get the nifty sticky-to-the-table child place mats.  Sorry you don’t get the kid’s meal toy that you can save from the depths of your kid’s toy box by trading it in for a free ice cream cone.  Sorry.

Today, we got the usual offer to carry our tray to our table for us, the usual offer for free refills as we sat at our table enjoying our waffle fries and today we got a free little board book kid’s toy for Baby Swiss to play with while I ate.  Just because.  Just because Chick-Fil-A is our little taste of heaven right here on earth.

So, in case you didn’t know, I went to Chick-Fil-A today.  After our lovely luncheon of waffle fries and nuggets, we were in the play area and this 2ish year-old little boy took a bit of a liking to Baby Swiss.  If “liking” can be described by unsolicited hand holding, foot grabbing, kicking and commands of “NO”.

He wasn’t hurting her and she wasn’t protesting, so I didn’t really care.  His mom was sitting at a table just outside the door and could see him and kept popping in to reprimand him and I kept telling her that he wasn’t hurting her and it was fine.  I did appreciate that she was keeping an eye on her kid to prevent the whole issue of having to boss someone else’s child.

After the 4th or 5th time she popped in, she asked me if Baby Swiss my first/only.  She paid me what I consider to be a high compliment by telling me that she couldn’t believe that I was that laid back.  I don’t know if I’m laid back or not – I mean I might have snatched that gnarly orange smiley face sticker that my kid found on the ground right out of her hands before she could snack on it.

I suppose she wouldn’t have been so hungry for the sticker if her mom had shared more of her waffle fries with her.

1 Comment »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    We have a Chick-Fil-A in the area, but it isn’t close and we don’t go there much. But you’ve inspired me! I’m off!


Leave a Reply

