December 4, 2009

adoption

Posted in mousie at 5:51 am by Anonymouse

I am an adoptive mother.

Please don’t feel sorry for me for any of the things I might have missed on my road to motherhood.  My path my have been different than yours, but who is to say that I am the one who has missed out?

I am an adoptive mother.

I witnessed the birth of my child to another woman and then heard her through tears introduce me to my child.

I am an adoptive mother.

We’re alike and we’re different and that’s okay.

I am an adoptive mother.

My family probably doesn’t look like your family and I like it because it is like your family, but it isn’t.

I am an adoptive mother.

I am humbled by the fact that I am a mother only because someone else is not.

I am an adoptive mother.

4 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    No fair making me cry.

  2. Kelly said,

    This is beautiful. I am an adoptive mother, too!

  3. Rach said,

    Wonderfully put.

    I’ve always scratched my head a bit at society’s notion that adoption is an “inferior” route to motherhood.

    It makes me laugh.

  4. Renae said,

    Ah, again with the tears. I am dealing with some hard truths today. But this made me smile and cry.

    I am going to be an adoptive mother. In my heart, I already am.


Leave a Reply

