January 2, 2010

resolute

Posted in mousie at 11:09 am by Anonymouse

I’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions.  I suppose it’s good to stop periodically and take inventory and adjust accordingly, but New Year’s resolutions seem a bit over-made and under-achieved.

Did that sentence even make sense?

The last year I remember making any New Year’s resolutions was 2004.  I had three.  They were as follows:

  1. I was going to quit my job.  I was working at my first job out of college and I loved it, AND I was great at it.  But I knew that I didn’t want to do it forever, so I didn’t see a point in investing a lot of my years and sacrificing a lot of my personal life for a job that would ultimately result in my starting over in an unrelated field as an entry-level employee at a non-entry level point in my life.
  2. I was going to meet the man who I was going to marry.  I wasn’t looking for a ring by Christmas or anything.  I just determined that I would meet him.
  3. I was going to start the book that I’d been talking about writing for several years.

Well, 2004 was an interesting year.  Probably the most interesting year of my life up until 2008.

  1. I quit my job in June.  I went on to quit the job that I had quit my job for in July for some moral/ethical reasons and spent August, September AND October unemployed.  In November, I started my new job which ended up being my career-job and a pretty crazy ride, but almost all good.
  2. In November, at a party some friends had to watch the newly released on DVD “Elf”, I met this totally adorkable guy and had my first, last and only geek-crush.  In the following weeks, I proceeded to completely make an idiot out of myself in front of him by bragging about my infrequent showering habit, my friends-with-kissing-benefits guy friend from my college years and who knows what other not attractive qualities of mine.  In January 2005, he asked me out on a date (via email!) and in January 2006, the fool became contractually obligated to keep me around forever.
  3. I started a Word document and wrote two sentences.  I don’t remember what that book was even going to be about, but I started it.  I am an author!

So, my last experience with New Year’s resolutions really turned out pretty well.  I don’t really have anything that I feel like committing to right now though, so I think I’ll just skip the resolutions this year and keep up my record of no resolution fails.

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    The way you describe getting married is possibly the best way I’ve seen that written ever.

  2. Renae said,

    Adorkable! Do you iknow I’ve used this exact word to describe Chris!!!!

    And how come I’ve never realized how close our anniversaries are – we’re 11/2005.


Leave a Reply

