January 15, 2010

losing a part of myself

Posted in mousie at 9:50 pm by Anonymouse

Because I woke up this morning to find I had lost two pounds this week and because I pigged out today when Mr. Mouse, Baby Swiss and I went out to lunch and because there is a toffee chocolate chip cookie taunting me in tupperware on my counter that my husband keeps forgetting to eat and because my sister is getting married (probably) in April and there will be pictures taken that could end up in frames and because I got my very first workout dvd in the mail today and because Kelly is hosting a blog carnival about it this week, I’m going to post about weight loss.

I know.

I’ve been there and done that before.

I know.

Thus far in my life the two most effective methods of weight loss for me have been:

  1. Moving to a new city where I didn’t have any friends to go out to eat with (my #1 social activity in college) and simultaneously working in a retail management program where I was on my feet (in heels!) walking around a four story department store for a minimum of 45 hours a week.
  2. Taking metformin (in an effort to find a solution to the infertility), which made me sick and apparently made my metabolism the same as that of a teenage boy.

Well, neither of those are really options for me right now and I have circumstances (see also: taunting cookie & upcoming wedding) that make me think that losing a little bit of weight might not be a bad thing (see also: spending money on workout dvd).  Plus, I got on the scale on Monday and weighed one pound less than I did at my heaviest weight ever.

In a perfect world, I would like to lose 30 pounds.  In a realistic world, I would feel much better about myself in my clothes if I lost 10.  In an compromising world, hopefully, maybe we can split the difference.

Here’s the thing.  I don’t like to exercise and I really don’t see that changing anytime soon.

I also don’t care about being healthy.  I just want to look good.  I’m vain.  Duh.

Add to that, the fact that I’m not really willing to give up soda, ice cream, french fries, chips & salsa, etc.

So, that’s it.  Piece of cake right?  (mmm…cake.)

Okay, here’s the plan.

I’m using The Daily Plate (which is now a part of Livestrong – you know, the Lance Armstrong yellow bracelet thing).  It lets me track my weight and keeps track of the calories I eat in a given day versus the goal I’ve set for myself.  And, it’s free.  I’ve used this in the past and it has worked…when I am faithful.  Duh, I know.  Being faithful to calorie counting is not exactly fun.   However, having my collar bones showing is fun.  It’s a trade-off.

I also bought that workout dvd.  I know I’m a little late to hop on this bandwagon, but I bought the 30 Day Shred.  It just came today and I will not do it in front of anyone, except maybe (maybe) Baby Swiss.  Kids don’t develop memories until ages 2-3, right?  I mean, I don’t want to scar my kid by having her witness Jillian Michaels yelling at me, me yelling back at her, and then me crying out in agonizing pain.  The collar bones aren’t worth long-term emotional damage to my child.

So, that’s the plan.

Who knows, maybe I’ll stick to it for at least 15 days.  That’s how long I’ve been doing this daily blogging gig.

Show Us Your Life with Kelly's Korner

2 Comments »

  1. Rachel said,

    Good luck! My most effective weight loss technique is hands down… a virus. 🙂

  2. Wishing you the best with shredding. In 30 days, you’ll be one of those insufferable Shredheads. But you’ll have collarbones you can slice bread with.

    A few years ago I lost 51 pounds doing Weight Watchers. I really liked writing down everything I ate, strangely enough. It kept me accountable.


Leave a Reply

