February 23, 2010

a conversation over a bowl of cereal

Posted in mousie at 6:54 pm by Anonymouse

Clearly I am nearing my special prayer time.

Today, I was watching the last episode ever of Gilmore Girls (like I haven’t already seen it a zillion times).

Rory got her big job on the campaign trail and had to leave really suddenly and Lorelei is doing her best to not fall apart and enjoy her last few days with her daughter and I knew the big town party was coming and it was just all too much for me.

I looked at Baby Swiss who was straddling my lap, facing me eating some Os and I said to her, “You’re never going to grow up and leave me, are you?”

All the while, I’m blubbering like an idiot and she’s very contentedly eating her Os.

She looked at me, said “hug” and then gave me a great big one.

I think that’s as close as she can come to saying, “No, Mama.  I will never leave you.”

And I’m going to hold her to it.

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    See, Lorelei made her mistake by letting Rory go to school and grow up and all that. We are not going to do that, so we don’t need to worry.

  2. Kelly said,

    Are you looking these sayings up or what? You are cracking me up. We have all 7 seasons of Gilmore on DVD, but my daughter and I still end up glued to the TV when it’s on…


Leave a Reply

