April 1, 2010

parenting strategy fail

Posted in mousie at 8:22 pm by Anonymouse

Yesterday, our friend came over to play in the afternoon because his babysitter was sick and his mom and dad needed to be at work.  I pulled out the exersaucer, because I know a good baby containment plan when I see one.

Baby Swiss kept wanting to get in (when it wasn’t otherwise occupied) and while I’m sure she meets the weight requirements, I didn’t figure it was a great idea to indulge the playing in baby things ideas as we have friends with babies and our kid doesn’t really need to be abusing all of their stuff.

Her baby tried it out a few times, but Baby is awfully small and kept falling through the leg holes.  And then Johnny Castle came off the stage and said, “Nobody puts Baby in an exersaucer.”

And that was the end of that.

So, on and on it went with Baby Swiss wanting in.

I finally thought – I’ll put her in, she’ll be stuck and hate it and quit asking.

Brilliant idea.  I’m a genius mother.

Except I am idiot.

Baby Swiss loved it.  She spun around and played forever – she stood there all huge and stuff like she was on the wrong end of an “eat me” note in Wonderland, but completely oblivious.

I know the legs are adjustable, but really – what’s the point?

I won’t get into the details of how the story ends, but I will say that it involved tears, fits and a lonely exersaucer banished to the basement.

3 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    She looks all adorable in there!

  2. Kelly said,

    Mea always does this to me too. When our baby granddaughter comes over, I pull out some old toys, and she always throws the worlds biggest fit when it’s time to put the stuff away.

    Yesterday, we were playing on the swings after dinner, and she was swinging on the trapeze, she tried to tell me that she liked to swing on the trapeze when she was a baby. So silly.

  3. shoeaddict said,

    And why are the leg holes so large anyway? I hate that!


Leave a Reply

