April 6, 2010

help, please

Posted in mousie at 8:02 pm by Anonymouse

One of the first things we taught Baby Swiss to say was, “help, please”.

(I think it’s a pretty popular phrase to teach little babies.)

We wanted her to learn that there are better ways to get things done than going to immediate cries of frustration.

Now, I hear “help, please” all day long.

It seems I’m smart enough to teach my kid how to ask for help, but I’m not sure when I’m going to learn to bypass my own cries of frustration in favor of a simple little plea.

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    We did the sign for help, since Elizabeth isn’t very verbal yet. She accompanies it with a “eh eh eh” and does it all day long too. But, sigh, it is significantly better than the cries of frustration. And besides, pretty soon they’ll want to do everything all by themselves.

  2. Kelly said,

    At least she’s still young enough to ask for help…at nearly 4, Mea has to do everything “myseff Mama,” which is fine unless we are in a hurry. Zipping our jacket, buckling her own seatbelt, getting dressed, etc. She’s doing it on her own, she’s a very independent little woman!

    She really wants to do things that she has no idea how to do, and that makes me super crazy! I can only watch her attempt shoe tying for so long, before I am just forced to make her mad!


Leave a Reply

