April 7, 2010

don’t say I never gave you anything

Posted in mousie at 7:23 pm by Anonymouse

Before I start, I’d like to share my recipe credit rule.  Here it is: the first three times you make a recipe of someone else’s, you have to give them credit when people ask you about it (or in this case, compliment you).  Starting with the 4th time you make it, the credit is all yours.

Lemon Pound Cake

3 sticks butter (it’s called pound cake for a reason)
3 cups sugar
5 eggs
3 cups all purpose flour
1 cup milk
1 t vanilla extract (I never measure vanilla and always use way more than is called for – I probably use  more like 1-2 T.)
1 t  lemon extract (I use lemon juice and just add until it smells like it’s at the right level of lemony-ness – probably 4-6 T.)  (OPTIONAL: add the zest of one lemon)
Cream together butter and sugar until smooth. (If you’re like me, that means that you forgot to set the butter out to soften it, so throw caution to the wind and toss your metal kitchenaid bowl into the microwave and check obsessively so as not to have liquid butter.)  (If you’re not like me, good for you.  Tell me your secrets.)

Add eggs one at a time. (This means beat after each egg for those of you adept at cracking five eggs all at once.)

Alternate adding the flour and milk (1/3 each time), beating between each addition.

Add vanilla and lemon extract/juice/zest and beat for at least 15 minutes. This step is especially important as it makes the batter smooth as silk and quite fluffy.  (This is a great time to pull out your pan, preheat your oven and butter your bunt/tube pan.  It’s also perfectly appropriate to snack on Hershey’s kisses at this time.)

Bake at 350 for about an hour and fifteen minutes, checking often after one hour.

Cool completely.  (Those two words probably make you think of me…Completely Cool.)

This next step is totally optional.

Glaze:
1/2 cup lemon juice and 1-2 cups powdered sugar and mix well. Pour over cake after it is cool. (If you use a bunt pan, you can put the glaze in the pan and return the cooled cake to the pan to let it soak the glaze up.  I don’t recommend this for use with a tube pan.  For a lighter touch, you can brush the gaze on with a silicone basting brush

This is my favorite spring/summer dessert (other than homemade ice cream, of course).  It is easy to make, easy to clean up, I always have the ingredient on hand, etc.  I usually serve it with strawberries (any berries would be great) and whipped cream (please please please make your own whipped cream and never call Cool Whip whipped cream).

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I can simultaneously crack one egg in each hand. It’s my only kitchen trick and it isn’t even that impressive.

    Cool Whip is not whipped cream. In fact, Cool Whip isn’t even food.

  2. Kelly said,

    This sounds super yummy. I love pound cake. I can’t stand cool whip….

    I have one dessert that I’ve made in the past where while you are whipping your own whip cream, you add a package of whatever flavor of instant pudding you like to the cream while you are whipping…and it is sinfully delicious. Particularly, white chocolate for some reason. Really yummy.


Leave a Reply

