April 17, 2010

the thunder rolls

Posted in mousie at 7:52 pm by Anonymouse

***I have a couple of guest posts in the hopper now, thanks to yesterday’s plea, but I’m saving them for the non-weekend, since nobody reads on the weekend anyway (except for you, of course).  So, for anyone dumb enough to read on the weekend, you’re stuck with my regularly scheduled mindless ramblings.  Enjoy!

When I was in high school, my youth group went to a week-long summer conference each summer.  It was always a good time for personal spiritual growth, checking out boys, youth group bonding and checking out boys.

I’m just being honest.

One summer, the first night we were there happened to be the same time as a huge crazy storm.  Power went out all across the college campus that we were on and there were all kind of sirens.  The bubble over the pool even deflated.  That part was kind of cool.

Anyway, it was a big storm.

We eventually all made it into the big room that hosted the main sessions.  Worship leaders and speakers and conference interns and conference coordinators were doing various things from the stage to maintain order and attempt to focus a few hundred teenagers.  (No small task with or without power.)

There was much talk of Satan and how he was working to ruin what we were there for by causing all of the light show, videos and other electronically dependable things to not work.

I think Satan is pretty powerful and can do a lot of things.

But I think God is more powerful and can do a lot more things.

I don’t know if that storm was from Satan or not.

What I do know is that God works in all kinds of storms.

Some people like to watch storms, some like to chase them, I usually like to avoid them and pretend they aren’t happening.

One thing is sure about storms though, if you’re going through one, the fastest way out is straight through – middle of the downpour, thunder and lightning and all.

And when you reach the other side, the shine of the sun is much brighter, the sky is bluer and maybe, just maybe you’ll see a rainbow.

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Good post. That’s a reminder I need sometimes. I like to sit down and wallow in storms sometimes.

  2. Darci said,

    ok, i read on the weekend and i am pretty smart if i do say so myself.


Leave a Reply

