April 19, 2010

danger

Posted in mousie at 10:24 pm by Anonymouse

Because two people asked and because it’s after 10 and I still need to post something and because it’s easier to post a recipe than put together a proper introduction for one of my guest posts, I am going to share my chocolate cake recipe.  I believe the cake part is originally from the back of the can of Hershey’s cocoa.  I got it from my mom though and I’ve made it enough times now that I own it in my little world.

It’s good cake though.  Look, Baby Swiss likes it.

(photo from her birthday party)

Okay, here you go:

Hershey’s Chocolate Cake:

2 c. sugar

2 c. flour

1/2 c. cocoa

1 1/2 t. baking soda

1 1/2 t. baking powder

1 t. salt

2 eggs

1 c. milk

1/2 c. oil

*2 t. vanilla

1 c. boiling water

Mix dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl.

Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla.

Beat on medium speed for 2 min.

Stir in boiling water.

**Pour into 2 greased & floured 9″ cake pans.

***Bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes.

****Cool completely before frosting.

A few notes from me:

*I always use more vanilla than a recipe calls for.  This is the recipe, I probably use more like 4 t.

**If you want a three layer cake, this recipe is easy to convert to 1.5x all the measurements.

***I set my timer for 20 minutes and check obsessively after that.  You don’t want to overbake it.  You want it to be super moist.

****Trust me on this one.  I was in a hurry once and my layers all slid off each other and it was a visual train-wreck (still delicious though).

Chocolate Buttercream Icing* (warning-this recipe contains both butter & cream — would you believe I have a friend who once made what she called buttercream icing without either?):

6 T. butter, softened

1/3 c. cocoa

2 2/3 c. powdered sugar

~1/3 c. cream

1 t. vanilla

*I usually double this recipe for a three layer cake and 1.5x it for a two layer cake because I find that it’s not quite enough.  You will likely use more than 1/3 c. of cream, but go slow adding the extra, you don’t want your frosting too thin-it won’t hold the layers together.  Don’t you dare bake this cake and put frosting from a jar on it.

Happy desserting.

1 Comment »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Will you come to my house and make me a cake? You made me hungry.


Leave a Reply

