April 21, 2010

read it

Posted in mousie at 7:49 pm by Anonymouse

I’ve been reading Angie Smith’s blog nearly since it started.  Her writing is amazing and although I don’t know her, seems to come from such a real, genuine place.  Her faith, even more amazing that her writing, shows through brilliantly in every step of her journey.

If you don’t read her blog, you should.

Seriously.

She wrote a book that I pre-ordered back in January.

It’s called I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief & Joy.

My copy came last week.

Baby Swiss had the first read.

Today, I read it.

The whole thing.

I have never in my life read an entire nonfiction book in one setting (sitting?).

I think I could probably count on one hand the number of nonfiction books I have actually read in their entirety period.

I could probably also count on one hand the number of books I’ve read all at once like this.

I don’t think I have ever in my life recommended a nonfiction book.

Until today.

If you have ever been through a tough time or known someone who has, read it.  Especially if it is somehow related to the loss of a child, but even if it’s not.

Angie tells the story of her daughter, Audrey Caroline and weaves throughout the story, her own discoveries of the stories of John Chapters 11 & 12 – where Mary & Martha send word to Jesus that Lazarus is sick, Jesus raises him from the dead and Mary washes Jesus’ feet with perfume.

One of my favorite parts – she just talked about Mary and the alabaster jar of perfume and the feet washing and says of the metaphorical alabaster jars that we have all been given:

…Whatever it is, a loss, a divorce, a death, a hurt, something you feel is out of your control, forgotten by the One who could make it right again — know this.

He has not forgotten.

He heard your call.

He may wait to come to you because He is withholding a blessing in order to give you a better one.

And regardless of whether or not your Lazarus walks out of the tomb, I pray that you continue to worship the Lord, keeping what He has given you until the moment you are called to give it away.  And as the glass shatters all around you and you grow dizzy from the intoxicating smell of pure love, get as close to His feet as you can.

And know this.

It was always meant to fall from your hands.  And He is glorified in the shattering.

2 Comments »

  1. anonymouseandcheese said,

    I forgot to say that I cried through pretty much the entire book. Baby Swiss kept looking at me all concerned and saying, “mama? eye? eye?”.

  2. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Well, I just spent a bunch of time reading Audrey’s story and now you’ve got me crying.


Leave a Reply

