May 8, 2010

until last year

Posted in mousie at 12:41 pm by Anonymouse

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day.

Whenever I think of Mother’s Day, I think of a commercial – probably for Hallmark – that was on more than ten years ago.

I don’t remember all of it, but I remember it made me teary and I remember that it listed all of the kinds of mothers.  For all of the mothers… grandmothers… fathers who are also mothers…

Or something like that.

Like I said, I don’t remember all of it, but I’m pretty sure it didn’t address the difference between birth mothers and adoptive mothers, and all of the intricacies therein.

What do you do with Mother’s Day when you know that you are a mother only because someone else is not?

Hallmark doesn’t really make a card for that.

Or maybe that’s what those blank cards are for.

I always wondered about those.

Did you know that the Saturday before Mother’s Day is known as Birth Mother’s Day?

Yeah, I didn’t either.

Leave a Reply

