May 21, 2010

i’ve made her dozens of grilled cheese sandwiches

Posted in mousie at 9:28 pm by Anonymouse

I just made two batches of Creamy Lemon Crumb Squares to take to a wedding shower tomorrow.

The wedding shower is for one of these girls.

Yes, they do grow up too fast.

The bride-to-be will always have a special place in my heart.  She is special to a lot of people and a lot of people have a lot of memories of her, but I will never forget the phone call I got from her more than 5 years ago…

“My dad died in a car accident last night.”

She was barely 16.  I was not quite 24.  Neither of us knew what we were doing.

She didn’t want to spend the night at home, so she stayed with me a few nights.

I had quit my job a few months prior and was yet unemployed, so I had my days free.

We ate soup with crackers.

We went out to Mexican.

We dyed her hair.

We shopped for clothes for the visitation and funeral.

We just were.

I didn’t know what I was doing, but I knew I was doing it with the right person.

Five anniversaries, five birthdays and five Fathers’ Days later, she will walk down the aisle on her brother’s arm in July.

There will be much joy, probably a little sadness and I’m betting on there being some cake.

1 Comment »

  1. addy1013 said,

    ah, that beautiful girl. give her some love from the sunshine state.


Leave a Reply

