May 29, 2010

romance and my reality

Posted in mousie at 9:35 pm by Anonymouse

So, today Mr. Mouse and I were sitting at the kitchen table.  He was eating lunch (I had eaten earlier) and listening to his 90’s country station on Pandora.  I was enjoying the songs that first made me like country music and playing solitaire (Vegas Style, Continuous Score, Flip 3: My. New. Obsession) on my netbook.

As I was listening to a song that was all romantic and kiss-y and dance floor-y, I thought back to the kind of guy I thought I’d marry when I first listened to those songs in the midst of my teen angst.

I think the teen-aged me dreamed of over the top romance, with a smidge bit of romance on the side.

Drama dreams of drama, right?

Right.

Drama doesn’t necessarily need drama though.

As I got a bit older, I sort of knew that I’d end up with a logical, practical, steady guy.

So, I married an engineer.

And today, as I was thinking through all of this while Colin Raye or someone was playing from my geek husband’s fancy cell phone, I asked him if he remembered our first kiss.

His reply… “ummm…I should…”

And then I died laughing and put it in my facebook status.

And that little exchange is a pretty good example of exactly who we are.

And we’re perfect for each other.

1 Comment »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Yeah, us too. That kind of romance is for teenagers. REAL romance is filling up my car with gas so that I don’t have to.


Leave a Reply

