June 6, 2010

don’t substitute skim milk

Posted in mousie at 9:11 pm by Anonymouse

Today we made our first homemade ice cream  of the season.

Homemade ice cream season is definitely my favorite season.

I’m a vanilla girl when it comes to homemade.  I save my adventures for other venues.

Here’s my recipe.  Also known as my mom’s recipe.  Also known as my grandma’s recipe.

Possibly soon to be known as your recipe.

I have a friend who says about my cooking – “what Anonymouse makes is always good because it has butter and cream”.  She’s right.  Not about everything I make being good.  She’s right that butter and cream will rarely steer you wrong in the flavor department.  Let’s not discuss pant sizes here today.

Vanilla Ice Cream

8 eggs

2.5 c sugar

1 can evaporated milk

2 c whipping cream

1 qt whole milk

2 junket tablets

2 T vanilla (I use 3-4 T)

Beat first four ingredients with a whisk.  Add milk, then heat mixture until warm (if you have your burner too hot, you will burn the sugar and make creme brulee ice cream – not as good as vanilla.  Not that I would know anything about that.) Add junket tablets (I pulverize them in my hand first) and vanilla.

Freeze and enjoy!  Makes one gallon.

3 Comments »

  1. Darci said,

    1. Am i that friend? if not, add me to that list
    2. This is very similar to my recipe…except i don’t even know what a junket tablet is.
    3. i wanted to make ice cream today, but we went out for ice cream instead.

  2. HereWeGoAJen said,

    You know, I think don’t substitute skim milk should be a requirement of EVERY recipe.

    Cream and real butter are the “secrets” in my famous mashed potatoes.

  3. Brittany said,

    What in the world is a Junket tablet?


Leave a Reply

