June 8, 2010

almost full disclosure

Posted in mousie at 9:32 pm by Anonymouse

When I was in college, I went on a mission trip to Panama.  One day toward the end of our trip, we went to the beach.  It was surprising to me the two girls who were the most insecure about being in swim suits.

Because it was the two prettiest, skinniest girls in our group.

Now, I maintain that I look the best in clothes, the second best naked and the worst in a swimsuit.

And yet, when it comes to swimsuit season, you’ve got a limited number of options:

  1. avoid the pool
  2. go to the pool and be self-conscious the whole time
  3. let it go

Here’s the thing though – for the most part, everyone else at the pool is so concerned about how they look in their swimsuit that they aren’t even paying attention to my thighs.

I choose to let it go because when I’m at the pool, I don’t have time to be self-conscious.

I’m too busy trying to get a tan.

3 Comments »

  1. addy1013 said,

    i usually don’t think about it, and maybe even feel a little too good while i’m out, and then i come home and glance at myself in the mirror, and am horrified.

  2. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I think I might look better in a swimming suit (ha, maybe) if I had a new swimming suit. See, I bought mine when I was twenty and I haven’t gotten a new one since then.

  3. Jamie said,

    I love this!
    I too am working on letting it go, and what a coinscidence my second-best look is naked too 🙂
    you crack me up and I just love being tan!


Leave a Reply

