June 17, 2010

an open letter to costco

Posted in mousie at 11:43 am by Anonymouse

Dear Costco,

I hope you know how much I love you.  You introduced me to veal frankfurters.  For that alone, I will always have a special place in my heart for you.  I shouldn’t even have to mention the delicious fried goodness (also known as churros) you serve up at your snack bar or the fact that I can buy a bag of m&m’s the size of my toddler daughter and boxes of bisquick that last my family for years.

Don’t even get me started on all of the money you saved me with your store brand of infant formula or how much I love your baby wipes.

Your sandwich trays are a step above and brought much joy and hunger satisfaction to my family when I fed them in exchange for helping my family move to our new house.

You sell nacho cheese in a #10 can.  I have no words for that.

Your self checkout lanes are quick, easy and fulfill all of our childhood dreams of swiping bar codes across a sensor and loading items onto a belt.

One of your lovely employees even gave my daughter her first hand stamp today – a smiley face to which she keeps pointing and saying “mouth, eyes, mouth, eyes”.

However.

You knew the however was coming, didn’t you?

Do you have to put your fancy wood version of a swing set/playhouse at the entrance of the store where every little child can see it – and also high enough that they realize they can see it from anywhere inside your giant warehouse?  It is not my desire to enjoy your samples, your bulk items and your shopping experience while constantly hearing “slide, slide, slide” from a child begging to be tossed from 20 feet in the air down a vertical assembled slide.

Maybe next time I’ll just leave her at home.

More churros for me that way, right?

Hugs & Kisses in Bulk,

Anonymouse

4 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Oooh, the churros are so good. Sams club doesn’t have them and here we have Sams club.

    Elizabeth hasn’t realized that the giant thing up there is a slide. Hopefully she won’t.

    I love the samples. Sometimes I go just to get the samples. Everything tastes better when it is that tiny.

  2. addy1013 said,

    let’s not forget the cake. oh man, the cake.

  3. Kelly said,

    Way back a million years ago when Mackenzie was a toddler, and we didn’t have Costco, and could only go to Sam’s Club, she got bumped on the chin with a super sized tub of kitty litter, in the cart. I have no idea how it happened. She has not stepped one foot inside Sam’s Club since. She hates it. If she heard us say we were going to Sam’s Club, she would run and hide. What a memory two year old’s can have, and over kitty litter at that…

  4. Rach said,

    HOW did I miss this?


Leave a Reply

