June 27, 2010

potty talk

Posted in mousie at 5:22 pm by Anonymouse

So, my kid went potty on the toilet yesterday.

Seriously, who knew babies could go potty on the toilet?

Because my kid is definitely a baby.

A wittle tiny baby.

We’re not potty training, I just randomly ask her when I’m changing her diaper if she wants to sit on the potty.  I probably ask about 5 times a week and she probably says yes about 4 of those times.

The point of my guesstimated statistics?  It’s not a real regular occurence.

I figure it’s good for her to be thinking about how the whole thing works and she’s gone from being scared of falling in (I don’t want to mess with little potty chair or potty seats for the big potty) to thinking sitting on the potty is the cat’s meow.

I’m not really interested in potty training at this point.  I mean, having your kid sit in their urine until you’re ready to attend to it is much easier than having to drop everything and rush to the bathroom at the whim of a baby.

I’m also not really interested in potty training until my kid can tell me, or her daddy, or her nursery teacher at church, or whoever’s care she is in that she needs to go potty.

But still.

My kid went potty on the toilet.

Now we have to figure out what to call everything.  She already says “poo”, so I guess that’s settled.  The problem is that I don’t like hearing little kids say “pee”, but using “potty” for “pee” means you can’t use “potty” for “toilet”.  And Mr. Mouse doesn’t like “tinkle”.

Such a dilemma.

Oh, and have you seen this?  My kid is going to die over it if I ever decide to show it to her.  If “Elno” goes on the potty, she will want to go on the potty.

4 Comments »

  1. addy1013 said,

    she and titus must have had a talk. because he FINALLY peed in the potty yesterday! yay for swiss! maybe they can work on it together this week 🙂

  2. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Have you seen these? http://www.productreview.com.au/showitem.php?item_id=76153 That’s the first link I came across, but I’ve seen them just for sale regularly at places like Target and Wal-Mart. This is what I want to get.

  3. circaeightyeight said,

    potty = pee

    toity = toilet

    done.

  4. Kelly said,

    If you want the Elmo Potty video I’m pretty sure we still have it, and I’d be glad to send it to you. Mea loved it. It drove me kind of crazy, but she really liked it.

    I think the key to potty training is waiting until they are good and ready, and forget stupid pull ups. All they are is a diaper for bigger kids. Some real training pants, and a few days home is all you need. Cool, pretty, panties picked out as a reward for the end. Seriously.


Leave a Reply

