July 9, 2010

cranky is better than nothing

Posted in mousie at 9:33 am by Anonymouse

Baby Swiss has been super cranky all week.

I attribute 50% of the crankiness to her maybe still not feeling so hot and 50% of the crankiness to us settling back into reality after having fun and exciting friends here for 5 days and 100% of the crankiness to her being a fickle pickle.

Pulling out my hair, one fistful at a time trying to wrangle my irrational child has made me: 1. crazier and 2. thankful.

Three years ago, when I was wallowing in the depression of miscarriages and motherhood unfulfilled, I would have killed for a cranky baby to spend my days with and I wouldn’t have wanted to throw her out the window at all.

So, I’m not going to throw her out the window.

I’ll squeeze her and kiss her and work overtime to distract her from whatever burr she has under her saddle and then tonight, I’ll give her a kiss and put her to bed and wake up tomorrow to do it all over again.

3 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Me too.

    But I also hope the cranky goes away soon.

  2. Kelly said,

    The window bit is a little extreme, but we’ve all been there. Cranky, irrational children that can’t really tell you what’s wrong with them can be a bit overwhelming when they want to be.

    Ps. I found the Elmo Potty DVD this week cleaning out Mea’s video collection, it’s still yours if you want it…

  3. addy1013 said,

    although my baby is not cranky…..i think along the same lines too…..mainly because i have stood by and grieved with so many friends like you who had to walk thru that sadness of motherhood unfulfilled. thanks for making me a better mom (and person) 🙂 we miss you guys too!

    btw-the submit comment button is much more better engineered in this layout. thanks for changin that 😉


Leave a Reply

