August 8, 2010

relevance

Posted in mousie at 9:13 pm by Anonymouse

I’m doing a ten minute version of my testimony at a retreat-type thing for middle school & high school girls next weekend.

I’m not sure yet what I’m going to say.

There are a lot of ways to approach this type of thing, and I’d like to find the angle that will be most applicable to them, where they are at in life.

Something tells me that a bunch of teenagers don’t really care about my family building challenges or the fact that most days I don’t feel like a real grown-up.

I had a really great, really unique high school experience, so I’d like to go that route, but at the same time, these girls all think I am SO OLD and probably don’t really relate to an OLD person’s teenaged years.

When I was 25, I had a high school student equate me to her dad.  I was 25.  I was closer in age to her than I was to her dad.

So, I’m old.

I mean there was no texting and no facebook when I was in high school.

Can you believe it?

Postage stamps cost 23 cents and gas was less than a dollar a gallon.

We also listened to and watched tapes.

Tape – it’s not just for wrapping presents.

That’s pretty powerful.

Maybe that should be my angle for my testimony.

1 Comment »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I remember gas being $.67 a gallon. And that is when I was driving too. I feel old.


Leave a Reply

