August 14, 2010

i use the word sleep loosely here

Posted in mousie at 8:19 pm by Anonymouse

I slept on the floor of my church last night.

No, it wasn’t some crazy cult-ish sleep-in.

It was a middle school/high school girls’ retreat.

I don’t think sleeping on church floors is really for people over the age of 18.

Neither is staying up until 1:30 in the morning.

Neither is consuming massive amounts of cheetos and twizzlers.

And for me to make that statement, is really saying something.

Here’s the thing.

I’d probably do it all over again to see the huge smile the entire time on the 7th grade girl’s face who is still new to getting to hang with the older girls.

Or to watch a mother serve her daughter with joy and sacrifice.

Or to see teenage girls in 2010 dancing to Journey.

Or to let girls have a chance to remember what it’s like to be girls-without-boys-around.  My favorite kind of girls.

So yeah, I’d probably do it all over again.

But maybe I’d sleep in a padded pew next time.

3 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Next time, you’ll take an air mattress. 😉

  2. addy1013 said,

    ah, the good ole days.

    remember when we used to do retreats in hotels? mmmmm.

    🙂

    so glad it was good. girls without boys around are my favorite kind, too.

  3. What is it with their generation and JOURNEY, for goodness’ sake?

    I had the radio on one day. Some random Journey song came on, so I switched it because I was there the first time they were popular and I couldn’t stand them.

    My kids started shrieking like they were about to die, claiming that Journey is one of the greatest bands, evah. How could I? And when Ryley went to rock and roll camp, several of the bands (all young teens) did covers of Journey songs.


Leave a Reply

