August 22, 2010

signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs

Posted in mousie at 7:18 pm by Anonymouse

Baby sign language.

Did you do it?

I didn’t.

I don’t argue it’s merits.

I was just not really feeling it when we hit the age to do it.

Once, I was babysitting and a little girl was furiously signing the same thing over and over and I knew she was signing, but I didn’t know what it meant.

Poor kid.  Her parents teach her to communicate.  She does it.  And her bozo babysitter is an idiot.

Since Baby Swiss has been talking, we’ve had two different people try to convince us that we needed to teach her sign language.

Now?

So that she can communicate to us the things she is saying with her mouth?

That does not seem like a good use of my time and energy.

3 Comments »

  1. addy1013 said,

    t learned 3. please, more, and eat. that’s pretty much what we do. eat more, please.

  2. j said,

    E talked so early that she used signs to make her point – eg HUNGRY!. B didn’t talk and he used about 100 signs. I REFUSED to do signs. We even set him in the high chair and the other kids signed and got pieces of Pepperm*int P@tty but he REFUSED.

    I think they are good, but I think you kind of have missed that window where they would be most effective.

    There is always next time.=)

  3. Jamie said,

    At our house
    More, eat, all done with no 1
    And let’s face it no 2 doesn’t get as many pics, so how would I have time to teach her three signs LOL!
    My ultimate verdict Over-rated, but I won’t judge 🙂


Leave a Reply

