October 1, 2010

it’s all relative

Posted in mousie at 8:29 pm by Anonymouse

I have a friend who likes to call me her most professional friend.

Obviously she’s right.

I mean what is more professional than wiping the same nose – that isn’t yours – over and over?

Or serving up goldfish crackers in little plastic cups?

Changing diapers is definitely professional.

As is issuing endless prompts of “what’s a nice way to ask?” and “thank you, mama.”

Negotiating preschool activities like “let’s play trucks” and “iwanna go owwwtside”?

Professional.

Singing “Itsy Bitsy Spider” daily.

Yep, just like every office I’ve ever worked in.

Deciphering between a toddler version of “I want to cuddle,” and “I want to color,” is probably far beyond standard definitions of professional.

Clearly, I am most professional amongst her friends.

Don’t you want to meet the rest of them?

1 Comment »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Maybe she means that you are a professional friend? Not a professional person who is a friend, but a person who could make a living at being a friend. I vote for that.


Leave a Reply

