October 7, 2010

a rose by any other name

Posted in mousie at 9:45 pm by Anonymouse

So, Baby Swiss’s middle name* was chosen by her birth parents.

It is not a name I like, but they chose it and I think that is worth something.

After choosing the Pipsqueak’s first name, we took it to S (birth mom) and asked her to come up with a middle name that she liked or meant something special to her.

I figured that it would be nice for our kiddos to both have names from their birth families and I thought that there was no way it would end up being a name that I disliked more than Baby Swiss’s middle name.

Also, her other four kids all have normal names.  Not names I would necessarily use, but not names I hate.

Safe choice!

I was giving up on her thinking of something because she always seemed so waffle-y about it.

Last night I get an email from her with a name suggestion.

It was worse than Baby Swiss’ middle name.

Much worse.

Much. Much. Worse.

Now, for those who don’t know – a birth mother gives the hospital the information for the baby’s birth certificate, including the baby’s name.  In both of our adoption situations, the birth mother’s wanted/want to use the name that we are planning on using, with the obvious exception of the baby’s last name, which is the same as a birth parent.

When the adoption is finalized, the baby’s birth certificate changes to whatever name we choose, including our last name, and lists us as mother & father.

Last night I was calculating the odds of S finding out that we changed Pipsqueak’s middle name.

I emailed S back and made some light comment about an association between the name she chose and the names of two of her other kids.  I did not claim to like the name, but didn’t say I didn’t like it either.

I also casually mentioned that I had seen her middle name somewhere and had started thinking that it would be a nice middle name for Pipsqueak and would be nice that she would have that in common with S.

This is not a super exciting name.  It’s a very common middle name.  As is mine.  My middle name is the same as every other girl born in 1980.  If you were born in 1980, you know.  It’s Marie.  Pipsqueak’s middle name is not Marie.

I put the ball back in her court and held my breath.

All night long.

This morning, I got a very happy email saying she thought that was a great idea.

And there was much rejoicing in my heart.

*To review:

Baby Swiss’s first name: A character on Scooby Doo.  A character on Frasier.

Baby Swiss’s middle name: A season.  Not winter.  Not spring.  Not fall/autumn.

Pipsqueak’s first name: A shade of purple.  Screech’s girlfriend played by Tori Spelling on Saved by the Bell.

Pipsqueak’s middle name: Common middle name.

And, because I would really want to know if I were you…Pipsqueak’s middle name will not be this and her first and second initials will not be this.

5 Comments »

  1. Renae said,

    Heh heh heh. Glad Pipsqueak will not have those initials! Hee!

  2. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Excellent choices! And I am glad she dodged that initial bullet.

  3. Rach said,

    I think I peed my pants a little, reading this post.

    LOVE it. Love that you got the text while I was in the bathroom at Chick fil A.

  4. Jamie said,

    Whew! So glad VD will not be a part of your family tree 🙂
    And Lynne is a simply fine middle name.
    Wonder what mine is?

  5. Kelly said,

    Yikes. That was close. Good thing you were thinking of all the possibilities….some people just don’t.

    Some little kidlets, are just given some awful names, and intials, poor planning on their parents part.


Leave a Reply

