October 16, 2010

waiting on a baby, with some help from john denver

Posted in mousie at 2:38 pm by Anonymouse

(to be read to the tune – in your head – of “Leaving on a Jet Plane”)

All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go
I’m sittin’ here beside the phone
I just can’t wait to hear your first cry.

But the dawn is breakin’, it’s early morn
The world is waitin’, for you to be born
Already I’m so anxious I can’t lie.

They hug me and smile at me
They tell me they’ll wait with me
They bring me soda and cinnamon rolls.

‘Cause I’m waiting on a baby
Don’t know when, today maybe?
Wee babe, it’s time to go.

There’s so many times I’ve laid in bed
Crazy thoughts running through my head
I’ll tell you now, they don’t mean a thing.

Every place I go, I think of you
Every call I get, I think is you
When you get here I’ll do a dance and sing.

They hug me and smile at me
They tell me they’ll wait with me
They bring me soda and cinnamon rolls.

‘Cause I’m waiting on a baby
Don’t know when, today maybe?
Wee babe, it’s time to go.

The time will come for me to see you
On that day, oh, I will kiss you
And rock and swing, jiggle, bounce and sway.

I dream about the days to come
When I won’t have to watch the phone
About the times that I won’t have to say…

They hug me and smile at me
They tell me they’ll wait with me
They bring me soda and cinnamon rolls.

‘Cause I’m waiting on a baby
Don’t know when, today maybe?
Wee babe, it’s time to go.

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    It is time! I am excited. And no one is bringing me cinnamon rolls.

  2. Brittany said,

    McD coke or QT? Churro this week….as we await the blessed arrival? Of course, I’ll be FINE if you cancel!!!!!


Leave a Reply

