November 2, 2010

events, nerves and peace

Posted in mousie at 7:59 pm by Anonymouse

Well, we are in the town that Pipsqueak will be born in.  (The town in which Pipsqueak will be born if you’re anti-ending sentences with a preposition.)

So far, we have…

…eaten fried chicken, bread, mashed potatoes/gravy, green beans (not me) and french fries at a hilarious fried chicken restaurant (that is actually located right next to another crazy fried chicken restaurant).

…narrowly avoided a car accident.

…stopped to try to help an old lady who didn’t narrowly avoid a car accident.

…checked into our motel.

…realized that we will be leaving too early for complimentary breakfast.

…called the front desk for an internet access code.

…and started a blog post.

I’m feeling very nervous about the events of the next few days.

It is looking likely that S will not want to sign papers until Friday.

Which is fine and my goodness – if she is going to GIVE US HER BABY, she certainly deserves 48 hours.

That does not mean it will be any easier on me because WHAT IF SHE DOESN’T GIVE US HER BABY.

That question was rhetorical.

Don’t answer it.

The sermon at church Sunday was over the first part of Philippians 4.

Which happens to be my very favorite part of the Bible probably.

Other than the cool grace, forgiveness, major sacrifice, eternal life Jesus stuff.

Anyway, Philippians 4 got me through many a rough day two years ago.

There are a lot of unknowns coming up in the next few days, but I’m doing my best to trust in the One who knows the big picture.

If you are so inclined, here is a list of things that I emailed to my small group friends that I’d love prayer about:

  1. Safe and easy delivery for S.
  2. Healthy baby.
  3. Peace for S and us throughout the days in the hospital.
  4. That if S still believes that our family is the better place for Pipsqueak that she will feel good about signing the papers.
  5. Us to be the emotional support that S needs, as much as we can be as we don’t think she’ll have anyone else with her at the hospital.
  6. That the hospital will be welcoming and accommodating to us as adoptive parents and that they will have a room for us to stay in.
  7. Baby Swiss to have lots of fun with Nana/Auntie while we’re gone and as good of a transition into being a big sister as possible.
  8. Me as I’m away from Baby Swiss for the longest that I have been so far.
9 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I am so excited and nervous that I don’t even know what to say here. No, really, it’s taken me like twenty minutes to write this.

    I will pray for all of you. I am thinking about you constantly and if there is an email update list for heavens sake, put me on it.

  2. addy1013 said,

    so exciting. praying.

  3. j said,

    Love you all and S too. Praying, and crying, and praying some more.

  4. Shoeaddict said,

    I’m embarrassed (but not enough) to say that I’m teary, too. Thinking of S giving birth alone, of you & your nerves, the waiting!!! I’m praying for you. And Baby Swiss. And Pipsqueak.

  5. Jamie said,

    Praying and praying and praying some more.

  6. Kelly said,

    I will be thinking of you often and praying for you all today. Such an emotional day! I can’t wait for an update!

  7. Keeping your family and S in my prayers.

  8. Rach said,

    I’m praying for you like I”ve never prayed before.

  9. You got it.


Leave a Reply

