November 18, 2010

not sour or bitter either

Posted in mousie at 8:06 pm by Anonymouse

I cannot believe that I forgot a bullet point yesterday.

In my consultations with Dr. Google about newborn screenings, IRT levels and cystic fibrosis I came across multiple sources that mentioned that CF is often (as often as CF occurs) picked up in infants because their mother’s notice that their skin tastes salty.

Can you see where this is going?

I did what any other mostly-sane mother would do.

I licked my baby.

I licked her cheek, then I remembered that I’m always wiping her face, so that may not be the saltiest place.

So, I licked her hand.

It didn’t taste salty, but I wasn’t done yet.

So I licked her other hand.

Still no saltiness, but I had garlic bread for supper and my taste buds were raging at the garlic party.

So I chewed a piece of gum to attempt to tone down the garlic and then I went upstairs to change the baby’s diaper.

And I licked her belly.

She didn’t taste salty, but just so you know – she didn’t taste sweet either.

So all of that junk about babies being sweet?

Doesn’t apply to mine.

She has been taste-tested though.

6 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Hahaha. I almost emailed you last night to tell you to lick her!

  2. Kelly said,

    I would have been compelled to have others taste her as well. At least you did a complete job of tasting…

  3. Rach said,

    you WILL believe this…i “lick tested” both of my kids for signs of CF! (I know you totally believe it…) 🙂

  4. addy1013 said,

    i have never heard this. and i don’t know that i taste tested either of the boys. but nugget will be taste tested for sure 😉

  5. Like Rach, I licked my kid when I read this. Teddy. He was already in my lap, so why not?

  6. KimN said,

    Glad I’m not the only one. My daughter had a soft marker inutero for CF and has had major trouble gaining weight (she’s only 17 lbs at 17 mths old). I have licked Ellie many a time and she doesn’t taste salty either.


Leave a Reply

