July 22, 2011

after 969 nights

Posted in mousie at 8:08 pm by Anonymouse

Well, I guess I don’t have to be ashamed any more.

We threw our binkies in the trash.

I don’t know when I thought we’d drop binkies.  I knew I wanted to keep them for the transition to the big girl bed.  I knew I didn’t want to drop them right before or right after Pipsqueak joined the family.  I knew I didn’t want to cross that bridge in the midst of sleepless nights with Pipsqueak.  And so on and so forth.

I was priming Baby Swiss for the upcoming farewell to the binkies on a date that Mr. Mouse and I had settled on and all she heard was “treat” and she was ready to go say good-bye to them right then and there.

I thought I might as well ride the wave of excitement and go with it, even if it might make going to bed on our trip less than ideal.

So, we kissed the binkies good-bye.

We gushed over how proud we were of her.

And we talked up the “treat” that we’ll have tomorrow if she can be a big girl at bed time tonight and nap time tomorrow.

She decided she was ready for bed before we even told her it was time.

Everything was going too well.

At bed time, she said she wanted to pray about saying good-bye to her binkies.

So we did.

She went to bed binky-less like she’s been doing it her whole life even though she hasn’t done it since her very first night of life.

She got out of bed once.

I took her back.

She heard me upstairs and called my name.

I went to check on her.

She cried from her bed.

I went to check on her.

She cried from her bed.

Mr. Mouse is up there now.

Stay tuned for the triumphant conclusion.

Whenever that may be.

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I hope it goes well! Good luck!

  2. Emily said,

    This post made me laugh. Probably because it sounds a lot like our house right now! Only we didn’t give up a binkie. We just have random crying/getting out of bed for no reason around here.


Leave a Reply

