October 1, 2011

office friendly

Posted in mousie at 8:47 pm by Anonymouse

Friends are a strange thing, aren’t they?

If you go to the Chick-fil-A playplace, you can see kids make new friends in minutes and they play like they’ve been climbing through tunnels together for years.

Then, when it’s time to go, you just put on your shoes and leave and there are no expectations about who should call who for the next playdate and how often you will see each other and how personal you get when you chat.

It’s not quite the same once you graduate from the playplace, is it?

I’m not a perfect friend.

I wish I was (were?), but I’m not.

But hopefully I’m a better friend than I was last year.

And  then next year I’ll be a better friend than I am now.

My friends aren’t perfect friends either.

And I’ve been disappointed by a lot of friends this year – for small things and for not-so small things, but such is life I suppose.

Enough about disappointments.

I’m content.

Really content.

It’s been awhile since I was as content with the friendships in my life as I am now.

And I can’t think of a non-cheesy way to wrap this up and quite frankly it’s already cheesy enough, so let’s just leave it at that.

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I think you are a good friend. You’d be better if you’d move a little closer to me though.

  2. Tiffany said,

    ditto on the friendships being tough, ive been disappointed a lot this past few years in friends too. I think having a family makes it hard to be a good friend, simple b/c family requires so much of you. I think I am totally over the bff mindset and just trying to deal with the truth that God brings certain people into our lives for seasons and no friendship is truly lifelong.


Leave a Reply

