October 17, 2011

if you are what you eat, my babies would be more delicious than yours

Posted in mousie at 7:38 pm by Anonymouse

Today after ballet class (there may or may not be a ballet mom behavior study in the works), the girls and I went to lunch with a friend.

We ran into some mutual friends at Chick-fil-A (oh, please…like you didn’t know that’s where we went).

One of the girls we ran into has a son the same age as Pipsqueak and she saw Pipsqueak eating a waffle fry and said that her son was going to try them today, indicating that it was probably his first french fry.

Considering the fact that I’ve been shoving french fries in my baby’s grubby little paws for months, I think I played it pretty cool.

What’s funny (to me) is that I had a similar experience with Baby Swiss.

I have a friend from high school who had a daughter about three weeks before Baby Swiss was born and she has a blog and posted on her blog one day about her daughter’s first french fry and I was all…”First? Today? I am the worst mother on the face of the planet.”

Except I don’t beat myself up too much over what my kids eat.

Maybe I should, but I don’t.

We offer fairly healthy choices at home and when we eat out, we eat what we eat.

All of you moms who do a better job than me? Good on you…seriously.

Now, I’m off to get some soda for Pipsqueak before she goes to bed and make sure Baby Swiss doesn’t need another bowl of ice cream.

4 Comments »

  1. Emily said,

    Now, I need to go back and find out when I blogged about Audrey eating her first french fry! Don’t worry…she has more than made up for her late start on the junk food. Ask her what she gets at McDonalds and she is quick to spout off: “Chicken nuggets, french fries, chocolate milk, apples and caramel” all in one breath! I’m sure Isla’s first fry will come much sooner than her sister’s. =)

  2. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I’m with you. We mostly eat healthy stuff at home, but when we aren’t home, whatever goes. Elizabeth had ice cream three times on Sunday.

  3. Darci said,

    I’ll take a second bowl of ice cream please.

  4. Kelly said,

    I don’t put too much into that whole you are what you eat business. There are times where Mea would just be a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. There are other times where she would be an M&M. She eats healthy a lot. She’s also a kid.

    Mack had a friend who had her first piece of pizza ever at our house. Ever. I think the girl was seven. I almost felt bad about breaking their whole healthy eating thing. But really? Seven? She was missing out. I think she knew it by the time it was time for her to leave.


Leave a Reply

