October 21, 2011

it’s always the mother’s fault, right?

Posted in mousie at 8:01 pm by Anonymouse

Operation Hair Bow has ceased.

Because I’m fairly certain that Pipsqueak has some form of alopecia.

I know that sounds like me being dramatic, but this is actual not me being dramatic.

She really truly is pulling her hair out.

In handfuls.

She has a definite bald spot on one side of her head where she used to not have a bald spot.

And I’m afraid she’s going to start on the other side soon.

She’s been tugging on her hair since she was brand new, but it’s only been the last month or so that I’ve noticed she is actually pulling her hair out.

It’s mostly when she is in bed or in her car seat, so there’s not a ton I can do about stopping it.

Although I have now put her bumper back in her bed and put multiple toys in her bed that have fur and/or hair that she can play with, yank on, eat…whatever.

I did actually witness her pulling a whole [Pipsqueak sized] handful out.

It makes me cringe just thinking about it.

Obviously, I’m convinced that she is somehow emotionally damaged and this is her coping mechanism.

I think I’m going to need the pediatrician to assure me this is not the case when we go for her appointment in a few weeks.

In the meantime, I’m all of a sudden not all concerned about her keeping a hair bow in her hair.

3 Comments »

  1. circaeightyeight said,

    if you need me to get her in to CMH pediatric dermatologists, let me know. i’ll make some calls. =)

  2. Kelly said,

    Mea had a little bout with alopecia when she was between 2 and 3 1/2. We still don’t know what caused it. So stressful. She had a spot right on the top of her head, right in the middle that was about quarter sized. To say that I had to get creative around hair time is an understatement. Now, the hair in that spot is about 2 to 3 inches long, but gets loose from ponies, and clips all the time. She looks a bit Alphalfa like. Except with curls. πŸ™‚

    Good news is it didn’t last. Sometimes the fewer accessories the better, when we were dealing with that. Also pulling hair into too tight of ponytails can cause it to fall out.

    I hope that she stops. I don’t know what they would do for her if she’s just pulling it out vs. it falling out on it’s own. Baby restraints? πŸ™‚

  3. Tiffany said,

    Kids do really weird things. Brennan went through a hair pulling stage in kindergarten and had HUGE bald spots. I think it was a stress reliever because he said it felt good to pull it out. We stopped using gel in his hair because that made it easier to pull out big chunks (and it was a punishment because he liked “spiky” hair) but just gently discouraged him from doing it and it resolved itself in about 3 months. All of them have had various “nervous habits” they have gone through, some more annoying and/or destructive than others. Liam always pulls his shirt up when he is nervous right now. I really think its just either developmental or coping at various times when they need it because they don’t know any other way to handle their feelings. Never underestimate praying it away either!
    BTW Happy Birthday, your blog brings joy and laughter to my day and I thank you for that. Have a great year!


Leave a Reply

