October 25, 2011

31

Posted in mousie at 8:25 pm by Anonymouse

Yesterday was my birthday.

I don’t feel any older because obviously, I’m only a day older.

I do feel insanely popular since I got a little over 100 facebook birthday greetings.

Facebook is good for my ego.

31 all of a sudden feels old to me.

Not old, like I’m on my way to the retirement village.

Old like, I didn’t just graduate from college 6 months ago.

I’m trying to get used to the idea of calling myself middle-aged.

Protest if you want, but check my math:

  • Life expectancy for a woman in the US is 80.8 years.
  • Let’s round that up to 81 for our purposes although I expect to not make it that long.
  • Divide those 81 years into young middle-aged and old categories – 81/3=27.
  • Age 0-27 = young, Age 28-54 = middle-aged, Age 55-81 = old.

Further proof that I am not young:

At a parade a few months ago, after seeing a local university’s cheerleaders & band, I remarked to Mr. Mouse: “When did college kids start looking so young?”

I suspect I’ll be used to the middle-aged label in time to be officially old.

4 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Don’t tell my parents about that age division you’ve done. They will not like that.

    I was not one of your Facebook peoples. I think Twitter is way cooler. 😉

  2. Kelly said,

    Since I am further along in the middle age portion of your time table, I am now crying at my desk. It’s bad enough that I have bumped further and further along in customer service surveys and the like, and then you point out that I am old too. 🙂 Hope you had a great day!

  3. Darci said,

    I was a little afraid of 31 and now I’m terrified.

  4. Christa Frantz said,

    I knew there was a reason I liked you!! My birthday was the 24th too! Unfortunately, I am more in the middle age category than you are. Hope you had a great day.


Leave a Reply

