December 5, 2011

you can thank me for deleting the part about my related topic rant

Posted in mousie at 6:39 pm by Anonymouse

Today I did 55 loads of laundry.

Well, not quite, but it feels like it.

Taking the week off from laundry always seems like such a good idea the week of the laundry vacation.

Then the next week I smack myself upside the head and vow to never do it again if I ever should catch myself up.

Although laundry has these happy satisfying visuals to show off your accomplishment:

Empty hampers! Stacks of folded clean clothes! Full drawers!

I also happened to see the status of a facebook friend (who is barely a real life acquaintance) bemoaning the fact that she has to do 47 loads of laundry a day to keep up with all of the laundry for her family of 6.

Maybe not 47, but you get the idea.

Then a discussion was struck up in the comments (I did not participate) about how often you and the various members of your family can wear clothes and pajamas before washing them.

The person who initially brought up the re-wearing ended up coming off (to me – don’t you just love guessing tone?) kind of self-righteous about how smart she is to re-wear clothes and teach her kids about re-wearing clothes AND teach her young kids how to do the laundry, etc.

It was annoying.

And here’s the thing, we are total re-wearers over here.

My general rule (I hate to even use that word, as I’m not big on making up unnecessary rules for myself to break later) is that clothes can be re-worn until they are either visibly dirty or smelly.

And pajamas can be visibly dirty because your sheets don’t judge those breakfast stains.

Sheets are nice like that.

Speaking of sheets, you can probably imagine my bedding and towel washing protocol.

Now, obviously, I don’t want to come off all self-righteous about my family’s apparent filthiness, so let me just say that I don’t judge you and how often you choose to wear your clothes and thus how much laundry you end up with.

Unless you whine about it on facebook.

 

4 Comments »

  1. Darci said,

    We’re so self righteous we hardly shower…imagine our clothes.

  2. HereWeGoAJen said,

    There are people who don’t re-wear clothes? I mean, my goodness, I only own two pairs of jeans. Is there anyone out there who thinks I am doing laundry every single day to wash the pair of jeans I wore yesterday? And pajamas can be worn for MONTHS! 😉

  3. Kelly said,

    Some people are crazy about laundry.

    I am neurotic about how it gets done, but not with everything being washed everytime it’s worn. If you wash every single thing you own every single time you wear it, it gets worn out!

    I rewear nearly everything, with the exception of unders. PJ’s, yes. Jeans, yes. Sweaters, especially yes.

    Now my slobby blobby five-year-old? Not so much. If she could keep markers, food, mud, and everything else off of her clothes, I would be happy.

  4. I often complain about laundry on FB, especially on Mondays, sorry 🙂


Leave a Reply

