December 8, 2011

age three part 1

Posted in mousie at 7:44 pm by Anonymouse

All I’ve heard since before I have kids is that the terrible twos is a lie and that age three is the real terror.

I’ve even heard multiple people say that their child woke up a different person (not in a good way) on their third birthday.

I’ve tried to reserve judgement on what I think is terrible due to all of the whining about age three.

Because there is nothing like sharing a frustration about your two-year old to have it dismissed as being meaningless in light of bigger frustrations coming.

Both encouraging and validating.

Or not.

So, I’ve had a three-year old for exactly three weeks thus I am an expert.

Only joking.

I’m clearly an expert on everything, whether I’ve experienced it or not.

Or at least that’s how I roll on MY blog.

So, three weeks.

I’m happy to report that there was no switcheroo pulled with my child between bedtime on birthday-eve and morning.

So far (you know all three weeks we’ve done), three seems to be the age of “Why?” (this started several months ago, but I don’t see it going anywhere anytime soon) and repetition.

Like, “What’s your name, Mama?” “My name is Mama.” “What’s your name, Mama?”

Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Over and over.

But three’s behavior (all three weeks of it) has come nowhere near to that of TWO AND A HALF.

Imagine that I’m say that in a really doomsday-ish kind of voice.

Two and a half was the age of the fit.

Fits are not my favorite.

So that’s the report on three.

In summary: three doesn’t scare me.

But really, I’m glad to have three.

And even TWO AND A HALF (doomsday-ish voice again).

My mom says that the hardest age to parent for her has been the adult ages.

Because she can’t fix our problems.

She couldn’t fix things when my sister’s marriage went downhill and she couldn’t make everything better when I had three miscarriages.

I totally get that.

Because if my child’s biggest problem is that she can’t find her baby doll, I will be a happy mama.

 

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    See, I’ve heard some people say that the half years are the worst. Eighteen months, two and a half, and three and a half. We’ll see. I did hear a really good description of the Terrible Threes and think “well, Elizabeth has been exactly like that for her entire life” so maybe I haven’t had any change because I’ve been living it for three years already.

  2. Kelly said,

    I agree with Jen on the 1/2’s. They do seem to be the harder.

    I also agree with your Mom that parenting adult kids is the hardest. You can’t make all the decisions anymore, there is much out of your own control, and there is very little for you to do sometimes, except for be there. It’s hard.


Leave a Reply

