December 27, 2011

best Christmas gift ever

Posted in mousie at 8:03 pm by Anonymouse

My favorite Christmas gift this year was the gift my mom gave my dad.

He got an iphone earlier this year and has surprised us all with how addicted to it he is.

He’s been chatting around the idea of getting an ipad because he is old and would like the bigger screen to use to replace his phone for the sitting around the house time.

To be honest, I don’t know why he didn’t pull the trigger on the ipad because he tends to just buy himself what he wants – thus making him very difficult to buy gifts for.

I called my mom in early December to see if he’d gotten one yet, so that I could consider getting him some accessories for it as a Christmas gift from us.

She reported that he hadn’t and asked if she should get him one.

Because I knew it would make my shopping easier, I said yes.

I’m a giver that way.

Actually, I think it was just the push she needed to go for it.

Along with the push of having Mr. Mouse email her the exact link of what she should purchase, so she didn’t screw up and buy him something crazy instead.

Because she’s not as good with the old Internet as she’d like to think.

My dad and I drove to the airport on Friday to pick up my sister and brother-in-law and on the way back to my house, we got to talking about the ipad and why he hasn’t bought one yet, etc.

I could tell he still wanted it and that he had no idea my mom got him one.

He wouldn’t know – that is more money that they typically spend on gifts for each other.

On Christmas afternoon (the result of Christmas being on a Sunday) when we opened presents, the first gift opened was the ipad.

As soon as he realized what it was, he totally teared up and for the rest of the gift opening, he couldn’t stop holding my mom’s hand.

It was the best reaction ever.

Gratitude for an undeserved gift.

And isn’t that what Christmas should be about anyway?

 

 

3 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    That’s awesome. I love this story. And my dad just buys himself whatever he wants too, it makes gift buying impossible.

  2. Kelly said,

    Your Dad’s response is cute. So sweet.

    My Dad is impossible to buy for as he has no hobbies whatsoever. My sister and I always struggle with finding him something, and we hate buying him clothes. His response for clothing type presents is always, “That’s purdy.” We usually get a pretty good laugh over that one. Last year we bought him union suits, (like Pa on LIttle House on the Prarie), he’s always cold, and it’s what he wanted. They were “purdy” too.

  3. addy1013 said,

    im bawling. i love it!


Leave a Reply

