December 28, 2011

colorful isn’t always vibrant

Posted in mousie at 1:07 pm by Anonymouse

I was planning on not posting about my little leave of absence, but now I’m chronicling a few things that have happened in the last few weeks for posterity’s sake and things are a little bit out of order.

I don’t think posterity will mind.

So, a few weeks ago, Mr. Mouse and I went to a holiday party for his work.

But it wasn’t the big fancy holiday party for the whole company.

It was a smaller party for just the team of engineers that work for the client that Mr. Mouse works for – probably about 30-40 people there, counting the plus ones.

The evening consisted of dinner at a nice downtown Italian restaurant and taking in a concert a big  downtown arena.

As luck would have it, we ended up sitting at a table with Mr. Mouse’s boss and then also that guy’s boss’s boss.

Did you follow that?

I hope so because I’m  not going to make an org chart.

Believe it or not, engineers are not the most social beings, so as often is the case, I found myself feeling the need to be more social than I actually felt like being.

The goal was to be vibrant (great descriptor) and not obnoxious.

If you don’t know me in real life, it’s important for this story that you know that I am at least as obnoxious and inappropriate in real life as I am on the blog.

If not more.

So, throughout dinner, I’m resisting all of these opportunities to crack jokes as boss^3 is talking about all of the success that the division has had in the last year both independently and in comparison to the rest of the company.

Oh, yes. There were many opportunities for jokes.

And I sat there, being polite, less-than vibrant and actually thinking about each word before it came out of my mouth.

And it was exhausting.

This has gotten kind of long, so I won’t even go into the part where I ate shrimp.

Actual food from the sea.

Gross.

 

2 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I cannot stand work parties. We didn’t go this year. I just really didn’t want to.

    I ate a single shrimp last night and thought of you. Because shrimp are gross.

  2. Kelly said,

    You are a good wife Mrs. Mousie.


Leave a Reply

