March 29, 2012

there is a reason i don’t read

Posted in mousie at 10:17 pm by Anonymouse

So, I just finished the third book in the Hunger Games trilogy.

I started the first one Monday.

So, if you’re keeping score, that’s three books in four days.

Three books.

When I count back, three books is exactly how many books I’ve read in the last three years (prior to the HG).

So, I guess that explains my absence from the blog.

And from the rest of my life too.

So, my thoughts on the Hunger Games:

  • The writing is typical YA lit. It is not going to change your life or even inspire you if you’re of the inspiration persuasion.
  • The concept and the themes are blowing my mind. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about all of it all week. If you’ve read it, you know. If you haven’t, just don’t even go there. It will suck four days of your life away.
  • I won’t go into the in-depth book club discussion here, because it would be kind of one-sided and I don’t think I need to start having full blown conversations with myself although you know I’m more than capable of it.

Obviously, I shouldn’t read.

It only opens the door for me to start thinking.

And thinking is dangerous.

It incites rebellion.

And rebellion necessitates the use of strange mutated, bloodthirsty dog-lizard-humans.

And lots of people die.

And archery makes a comeback.

And teenagers care about things other than facebook and cell phones.

Like feeding their families and staying alive at all costs.

I think the conclusion that reasonably follows all of the above is: reading is bad.

Just don’t do it.

1 Comment »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I am thinking about reading those when we are in Mexico this summer. Good plan?


Leave a Reply

