March 31, 2012

after this, i’ll stop talking about the hunger games for awhile

Posted in mousie at 9:36 pm by Anonymouse

I saw the movie.

Before I start my thoughts, I’ll just say that I’m going to avoid spoilers and just speak generally.

Most prominent thought after seeing the movie: I wish I’d seen the movie before I read the book.

Or maybe it was just that I read the book so recently and it was all so fresh.

Either way, it was painful to me the way the movie had to short-cut so much of the relationship building between the characters.

I know why they had to, I just didn’t like it.

That and the majorly toned down emphasis on the social themes were my two biggest beefs with the movie.

There were some things I liked though.

Things that the movie had the freedom to add because it wasn’t in the voice of the heroine.

Interesting fact: I was on one team (think Team Edward v Team Jacob) in the book and a different one in the movie.

And since I’ve read all three books and know how it ends, I will say that I picked the “right” team in the book.

That is all.

1 Comment »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    I haven’t seen the movie yet or read the books. I am interested though.


Leave a Reply

