April 2, 2012

the three m&m rule

Posted in mousie at 9:09 pm by Anonymouse

Back at the beginning of January, we started having a, uh, difficult time with Baby Swiss at bedtime.

For whatever reason, she decided that she did not want to go to bed at bedtime.

It was glorious in all of it’s crying, fit-throwing, screaming, running, snotting mess.

It started a day or two before we went to Mr. Mouse’s parents house and continued while we were there.

Kind of humbling to have your kid being naughty to the max in front of your in-laws.

So, we came home and were fully ready to turn things around.

I approached her with great trepidation hours before bedtime and asked her to start thinking about a treat she might like.

I may have had a brave face on, but I was a desperate mother.

This kid could have asked for a trip to the moon and I would have been looking up Lance Bass on twitter.

In my mind, I’m thinking a trip for ice cream, dinner and playing at Chick-fil-A.

Without spending more than 1 second in deep thought, she comes back at me with her idea of a great treat.

“Yem-in-ems.”

Translated: m&ms.

Picture me congratulating myself in my head for not offering something bigger as had been my plan.

As I’m congratulating myself for keeping my mouth closed, I am opening my mouth to offer “lots of m&ms” as that is a quantity that’s been requested in the past.

Luckily Baby Swiss piped back up again before I have the chance to make my desperate offer.

“FOUR yem-in-ems!”

Me, thinking my kid may not be as smart as I originally thought, “Four m&ms sounds like a great treat.”

Except before I could get that whole sentence out, she is amending her request.

“No, FREE yem-in-ems decause I’n FREE years old.”

I think her negotiating skills could use some work.

 

3 Comments »

  1. HereWeGoAJen said,

    Hehe. Elizabeth sometimes does that too. Five is the biggest number she can conceive of too, so if I offer lots of M&Ms, she asks for no, FIVE.

  2. Kelly said,

    Hilarious. I ❤ Baby Swiss.

    • Lainey-Paney said,

      we count things out by age. Gage gets 6 oreos now b/c he’s 6 years old.
      It worked when he was younger….but 6 oreos in one sitting? What were we thinking!?


Leave a Reply

