April 15, 2012

puzzled: a metaphor

Posted in mousie at 9:43 pm by Anonymouse

I went to a conference this past weekend.

I’m still processing a lot of what I heard and I’m trying to figure out what direction I need to go with all of it.

How is my life going to look different because of what I heard/learned?

It is always so interesting to pop your puzzle piece out of the bigger picture for a window of time.

In that window of time, the rest of the puzzle remains as is.

Unchanged.

However, my puzzle piece is being trimmed here and shaved there and stretched at that one particular angle. And maybe even painted over a little bit.

So, when I return to the puzzle, I don’t fit anymore.

What do I do with that?

I can’t leave my puzzle.

It’s my puzzle.

I don’t belong as a part of any other puzzle.

So here I am.

I don’t fit anymore.

Do I squeeze and shift and wipe my surface changes off, so that I can fit back in just like before?

Or do I make the rest of the puzzle squeeze and shift?

Force my change into the other pieces of my puzzle until the puzzle has taken on a new shape?

Paint over the bigger picture to make it all look good at first glance?

It’s all so puzzling.

2 Comments »

  1. I was just reading over my notes! We should all get together and talk about how we want to implement what we’ve learned! It was so great to worship all together! I wanna be a WE!

  2. herewegoajen said,

    But Chickfila is still good, right?


Leave a Reply

